Coronavirus Updates

Select the "more info" link to keep up with the latest from Penn State about the global coronavirus outbreak. MORE INFO >

Skip Logos, Search and Top Navigation
Skip to Top Navigation

Latest News

Graduate Student Awards and Degrees (2019-2020)


Congratulations to the following students who received awards and special recognition for their efforts in 2019-2020 and to the students who graduated.

Awards, Recognition, and Service

Adam Benfield - Center for Landscape Dynamics Research Award

Julia Carr - Grand Prize winner (one of eight) for the 2019 AGU Data Visualization and Storytelling Competition

Si Chen - stipend from the ASTRO research program at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and a free admission to NX School (National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering)

Joanmarie Del Vecchio - Winner of the 2019 Wiley Award from the British Society of Geomorphology

Alejandra Domic - (postdoc)- Marie Curie award granted by the National Academy of Sciences of Bolivia

Arnold Eatmon – College of Earth and Mineral Sciences Graduate Fellow for Science Advocacy and Diversity for 2019-2020 and 2020-2021

Arnold Eatmon – College of Earth and Mineral Sciences Jay M. and Katherine Definis Outstanding Student Leadership Award

Troy Ferland - 2019-2020 GSA Charles A. and June R.P. Ross Research Fund Recipient.

Victor Garcia - GSA Graduate Geoscience Research Grant

Katie Horisk - Cleveland Museum of Natural History Hoskins Grant

Sofia Johnson-Gutiérrez - College of Earth and Mineral Sciences Graduate Fellow for Science Advocacy and Diversity for 2020-2021

Kirsty McKenzie - AGeS2 Geochronology Research Award from GSA to quantify differential uplift across the Yaquina Bay fault, Oregon using Optically Stimulated Luminescence (OSL) of marine terraces sands.

Collin Oborn – earned an Honorable Mention for his NSF graduate student research fellowship application

Emily Schwans - Member of the Science Organization Committee for the International Thwaites Glacier Collaboration (ITGC) Next Generation meeting last year, a key effort as part of the large international ITGC.

Srisharan Shreedharan - Schlanger Ocean Discovery Fellowship awardee for the 2019-20 year

Guangchi Xing - Dr. and Mrs. S. Norman Domenico Scholarship by SEG

Degrees awarded 2019/2020


Perri Silverhart, MS
Cathleen Bressers, MS
Damaris Wyatt, MS
Chloe Stanton, MS
Aoshuang Ji, MS
Abby Kenigsberg, PhD
David Yoxtheimer, PhD
Judith Sclafani, PhD
Thamer Alotaibi, PhD
Virginia Marcon, PhD




Allison Karp, PhD
Austin White-Gaynor, PhD
Erica Pitcavage, PhD


Expected SU20

Alex Neely, PhD
Shelby Lyons, PhD
Allison Fox, PhD
Heather Jones, PhD

More News