error Coronavirus Updates expand_more

Graduate Majors

Established in 1913, the Department of Geosciences is part of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences, one of the original colleges of the University.  The department offers thesis-based Master of Science (M.S.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees that provide a broad background and training in any of the major areas of geosciences and intensive research experience.

About a third of our graduate students are in the M.S. program and two thirds are in the Ph.D. program. The M.S. degree typically requires two years of work and culminates in a written thesis document that is defended and often submitted for publication. The Ph.D. program typically takes about five years for students entering with an undergraduate degree and about 3.5 to 4 years for students who have already completed a M.S. program.

All students in our department earn graduate degrees in geosciences and gain preparation for a range of careers (including industry, government, and academic pathways). Additionally, Ph.D. students can enroll in dual-title degree programs where extra training and experience is developed in Astrobiology, Biogeochemistry, or Climate Science.

View our programs below for more information.